2012 Personal Goals

With each January 1st, new years resolutions always spring up in full force. Personally, I’m not much a fan of new years resolutions as I feel they have little accountability and fade as quickly as they come up. Alternatively, I love setting goals as you have this list that you can check yes or no on (and who doesn’t love checking something off a list!). Here are my goals that I want to accomplish over the next 12 months (in no particular order):

1) Begin Blogging
So far on the right track with this one 😉 My initial goal is to post twice a month on anything I encounter or think of that would benefit others.

2) Better Life Balance
I tried this one last year but thing I still have much room for improvement. Between working full time at Pardot, heavily involved at Origin Church, helping launch a new business of Mobility Medical Supply, working on a few other side projects, not to mention my wife being in graduation school and normal life activities things can get hectic to say the least. This is really more of a balance of time on VS off the computer. Most projects I work on require technology so I want to find a healthy balance of being on the computer compared to non-technical offline activities.

3) Read New Testament
I love Jesus but I’m awful about reading His Word. In 2012 I want to grow my relationship and what a better way than to read what He already wrote to share with me and you. Personally I’m going to be reading The Message in the hope I can really grasp each word I read!

4) New Endurance Race Distances
For the past 3 years I’ve run in the Nashville Music City 1/2 Marathon and this year I’m ready to take things to the next level. This summer I want to successfully complete my first trail 1/2 marathon and Olympic distance triathlon. And for the BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Goal), this fall complete my first full 26.2 mile marathon (Mikey you ready for this one dude?!?). This year is not about record breaking times, it’s just the goal of seeing the finish line! Check out my race schedule here.

5) Year Around Health
When it comes to my health of eating well and exercising regularly I highly ebb and flow. I typically do really well in the spring and fall when I’m training for endurance races but other than that I tend to throw everything out the door until next training season. I really want to focus on being more consistent with always eating well and exercising year around.

6) Drinking 80 oz. Water a Day
In an effort to stay healthy and hydrated, it’s a good daily goal to drink half your body weight in ounces of water each day. Since I’m roughly 160 pounds I want to intentionally drink 80 oz. of water each day. I plan on getting my 32 oz. Nalgene out and drink one in the first part of the work day, one in the afternoon, and regular glasses of water with meals to accomplish this.

7) Regain Financial Control
With Becca being a full time graduate school we’ve been trying to pay for school out of pocket and she hasn’t been able to work for pay in some time so we’ve drained most our savings. Once Becca graduates in May (keep going Bec, there is light shining through!) it’ll be lovely to have her income again so we can build back up our savings and regain stability in our finances again. I will say that God has been ever faithful in providing during this time though!!!

8) Become Better Cook
Believe it or not, I do really enjoy cooking but I’m pretty limited to the few things I currently cook. Also, as my wife commonly states if it doesn’t come in a box with directions then we don’t cook it. I’ve heard that many successful men also know how to cook well so I’m intrigued and going to give this a shot with one new dish a month. Have any recipes I should try?

What are some of your 2012 goals?

“Set your goals so high that if you only obtain 50% you’re still highly successful!”

One thought on “2012 Personal Goals

  1. Resolutions are goals that you resolve to do, so it’s really a matter of semantics.

    Blogging a couple times a month can be difficult, check out plinky for weekly ideas.

    For cooking, check out epicurious, an app and website for recipes and shopping. I particularly suggest filling your spice cabinet, it can male simple things more interesting.

Leave a Reply

